Molasses for Healthy Hair

l_w2-1001

A few years ago I was doing honey treatments on my hair for natural lightening and I loved the benefits so much that I wanted to try it again but this time I didn’t want the lightening effect. In comes molasses, Molasses is chock full of minerals that strengthen and darken your hair. I decided to give it a try since it’s so cheap. I got blackstrap unsulphered molasses from The Vitamin Shoppe.

I figured that putting a sticky, gooey substance directly on my hair wasn’t a good idea so I looked in my fridge to find something mix my molasses with. I found some yogurt which would provide some protein for my hair. I decided that it would need some slip so I added my Kinky Curly Knot Today Leave-In moisturizer and amped it up with some rosemary essential oil. Behold, a deep conditioner was born.

I slathered the mixture over my hair and let it work for about 30 minutes. When I rinsed it out there wasn’t much a difference in my hair texture. My curls popped a bit more but I couldn’t see any other visible change. I’ll continue to use the mixture to see if I notice a difference over time. I’ll post the recipe below for everyone to try.

Ingredients:

6 tbs of molasses

6 tbs of plain full fat yogurt

1 tsp of your favorite leave in (I used Kinky Curly Knot Today)

10 drops of rosemary essential oil

One thought on “Molasses for Healthy Hair

  1. This post come at the perfect time, I have some Blacstrap molasses in my kitchen right now that I need to use up so I really appreciate this.

Share your thoughts

