DIY: Replenishing Avocado Conditioner

Avocado Conditioner

Here’s a great DIY deep conditioner to try. I love this deep conditioner because it’s cheap, organic, and the bomb dot com. Before I get in to this recipe I don’t want any of you to make the same mistake I did. You see that super green avocado in the picture? Well, when I made the deep conditioner this time around I use an unripe avocado. Honey, I don’t know why this avocado was so resistant to ripen. I bought the avocado on Wednesday to be used on Saturday. By Friday the avocado was still hard and green so I put it in the cupboard so it could ripen faster. By Saturday it was still hard. I figured I’d just have to give the mixture a high power blend. Well, that went all wrong. The unripe avocado wouldn’t fully blend. The grainy bits took forever to wash out of my hair. So learn from my mistake alway use a ripe avocado. Now that we’ve gotten that issue out the way let’s get in to the recipe and benefits.

1/2 Avocado (Ripened)

1/2 Banana (Ripened)

1/4 Cup Coconut Oil

1/2 Cup Coconut Milk

1 Tablespoon Raw Organic Honey

A few drops of rosemary essential oil (Optional)

Blender

Directions:

  1. Combine all the above ingredients and blend until smooth. Any lumps in the mixture will be a pain to rinse out.
  2. Slather the mixture on to your hair and cover with a plastic cap for 30mins-1hr.

Avocados are a great source of fatty acids and provide a host of vitamins and minerals.

Banana provides slip to the hair.

Coconut oil penetrates the hair shaft and nourishes the hair from within. This will reduce hair breakage.

Coconut milk provides the protein which will work to strengthen your hair.

Honey acts as a humectant and draw moisture to the hair.

Rosemary Essential Oil stimulates hair growth, treats scalp issues to promote healthy hair.

After, I managed to rinse out a majority of the avocado bits my hair was super soft and shiny. If you don’t have coconut oil then olive oil is an excellent substitute.

Avocado Conditioner

Top: Body Glow Body Butter in Warm Vanilla Sugar
Bottom: Replenishing Avocado Deep Conditioner

What’s Body Glow Body Butter? An all-natural body butter that gives your skin an amazing glow that I whip up myself. It moisturizes the skin from within, alleviates dryness, and extends that beautiful summertime glow. Interested in more information or purchasing? Send an email to lexisgreenguide@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “DIY: Replenishing Avocado Conditioner

Share your thoughts

