The Clean Eating Challenge

Eating clean has become a habit and lifestyle diet for me but I’m ashamed to admit that my diet for the past two weeks has been less than stellar. I’m not one to consume junk food but that greasy fried food spot only a block away from campus has been my guilty pleasure 3 times within the past two weeks *hides face in shame*. But the first step to fixing a problem is recognizing that a problem exists. So now that I’ve accepted the problem I am ready to get my healthy eating habits back on track. I will eat clean for the next two weeks and I want all of my LGG readers to join me!

What is clean eating?

Clean eating is a clever way to describe eating foods in its whole, natural, and unprocessed state. For example, fruits, vegetables, and whole grains.

Benefits of Clean Eating

  • Weight loss
  • Reduce risk of diseases such as cardiovascular diseases and cancer just to name a few.
  • Increased energy
  • Improved immune system
  • Better skin, hair, and nails.

Guidelines

  1. Avoid processed foods and added sugars. The food you eat must be as close to how it appears in nature. This means no fruit juices, soda, fast food, pre-packaged foods or anything of the sort. This includes most breads especially white breads made from bleached flour.
  2. Read the nutrition label. If it has a long list of ingredients, ingredients that you can’t pronounce, preservatives, and/or flavorings you probably shouldn’t eat it.
  3. Don’t starve yourself! Eating healthy doesn’t mean you have to go hungry. For example, between your meals you should eat a snack if you feel hungry. Acceptable snacks include fruits, nuts, or yogurt.
  4. Instead of using seasoning salt to season foods try fresh herbs such as thyme, rosemary, or dill. Also. cayenne pepper or chili peppers will give foods a nice kick.
  5. Drink plenty of water
  6. Eat organic and/or local when possible.

That’s it! Those are the guidelines I follow when it comes to eating clean. Remember, clean eating is not a diet or a fad instead it’s a lifestyle eating choice. We are challenging ourselves to make lasting changes.The challenge begins on Monday, May 20th and I’ll be sure to keep everyone updated on my meals and progress. If you choose to join be sure to comment or tweet your updates to @lexisgreenguide with the hashtag #LGG

Share your thoughts

