Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Co-Wash Conditioning Cleanser Review

Shea Moisture Co Wash

The Shea Moisture Co-Wash Conditioner caught my eye because of one thing…the ingredients list. I tend to stay away from buying Co-washes but Shea Moistures’s seemed different. It was the addition of Kaolin clay and african black soap. Take a look at the ingredients list:

Ingredients: Deionized Water, Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut)*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter*, Cetyl Esters, Kaolin Clay, Grapeseed Oil, Simmondsia chinensis seed (Jojoba) Oil, Behentrimonium Chloride (Conditioner), Hibiscus, Sabdariffa Extract, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Seed Oil, Sorbital Esters, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), African Black Soap Extract, Sea Salt, Rosemary Extract, Caprylyl Glycol

Kaolin clay is known to remove impurities from the hair while revitalizing dry hair and african black soap is a nourishing, deep cleanser. I knew these ingredients would nourish my hair while cleansing it. I decided that this product would be worth a try and bought it.

I followed the directions and massaged it in to my scalp for about 5 minutes. As I was rinsing out the co-wash cleanser I could see my product buildup being washed down the drain. It left my hair clean without disturbing my natural curl pattern or stripping my hair of its natural oils. I was very pleased with the results.

PROS

I like the smell and consistency of the cleanser. It has the coconut/tropical scent of the other products in the Coconut and Hibiscus line. The texture is similar to lotion and the lightweight consistency doesn’t leave my hair feeling weighed down. Also, the cleansing agents kaolin clay and african black soap were a big selling point for me. The fact that I could see how well it cleansed my hair as I was washing the product out was great. After using this product following up with a deep conditioner isn’t even necessary. I know that my hair is getting clean without the build-up of conventional conditioners or co-wash conditioners.

CONS

The 8oz bottle is entirely too small. I wish they had bigger sizes but that bring me to my next point. This product is a bit pricey ($11.99) compared to how many uses I can get out of it. You do need quite a bit of product to spread it through your hair.

SheaMoistureCoWash

Overall, this co-wash did a great job. I would definitely repurchase the Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Co-Wash Conditioning Cleanser. Hopefully, I’ll be able to catch this on sale and I’ll be even happier.

4 thoughts on “Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Co-Wash Conditioning Cleanser Review

    • Yes! It’ll def keep those curls popping. I’m not one to buy every product but this works as co-wash better than regular conditioner used for a co-wash because of the added cleansers.

Share your thoughts

