What To Do If You Over Exfoliate

I bought these exfoliating gloves from Target. If you know me then you know that I’m a big advocate for exfoliation. I was excited about my purchase. Admittedly, a little too excited. For three days I exfoliated my skin twice a day with the gloves. By the fourth day dry scaly patches began to form on my skin. I realized that I was completely a bit overzealous with the exfoliation. Now I was stuck figuring out how to get my skin back to its supple state. I figured that if the LOC (liquid, oil, cream) method works on my hair then it should work on my skin. Using this method in about 3 days my skin was back to normal.

The Method

First, I made sure to step away from the exfoliation gloves. I used Shea Moisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Body Wash as my moisturizing soap. Then, once I stepped out the shower and my skin was still damp I applied coconut oil.

photo2

After that I slathered on the pure shea butter.

photo

My skin was back to feeling baby soft in no time. My skin feels so good that I might use this method more often. I’ve learned my lesson. From now on I’ll use my gloves once a month and be sure to be gentle on my skin.

If you ever over exfoliate try this method and let me know how it works out for you.

Share your thoughts

