The Diva Cup Review and What They Won’t Tell You

diva-cup-550

Let’s talk about vaginas!

Something about a bleached, carcinogenic product in or around my vagina doesn’t sit well with me. So I began to research green alternatives to conventional pads and tampons. That is when I stumbled upon the Diva Cup. What is a Diva Cup?

“The DivaCup is a reusable, bell-shaped menstrual cup that is worn internally and sits low in the vaginal canal, collecting rather than absorbing your menstrual flow. “

That description is taken from the website but it doesn’t give the Diva Cup enough credit. The Diva Cup is an amazing menstrual cup that will change your life. Okay…maybe not your life but it will change the way you handle and view your periods. So let’s kick this review off.

Packaging

It comes in a box. Surely most of us couldn’t care less about this part of the review. I’m not going to get into the dimensions and coloring of a box. But what I do like is that the Diva Cup comes with a cute, cloth pouch to store your cup in. This makes it super easy and discreet to travel with.

divacup2

The Actual Cup

The Diva Cup comes in two sizes. Model 1 are for those who are under 30 and/or never delivered vaginally or by caesarean section. Model 2 are for those who are over 30 and/or have delivered vaginally or by caesarean section.

Let me tell you…both sizes seemed abnormally huge. How was I supposed to fit this big ass cup into my vagina? If I did manage to fit this cup into my vagina would it stretch it out? Would it hurt while inserted? Yes, these questions are silly but I had to wonder. I’m very comfortable with my vagina and a hand mirror is no stranger to my lady parts so I couldn’t imagine a cup fitting up there. Luckily, I did some research. The vagina is an elastic, muscular tube. This means that your vagina can stretch and snap back. So no need to worry about the Diva Cup being too big or causing a loose vagina. Also, the silicone cup softens to the shape of your body due to your body heat. It will be very comfortable to use.

Using The Cup

It wasn’t until my third period that I learned how to properly insert and remove the cup. Yes you will have to touch your vagina and may come in contact with other fluids your first couple of times but once you get the hang of it, it’s practically mess-free and easy to use. I love the Diva Cup because I only have to empty the cup once every 10-12 hours. Also I don’t get that plugged up feeling using the Diva Cup as I would with tampons. It’s so great that I’m able to forget about my period at times.

What They Won’t Tell You

Getting the cup to fully open in your vagina can be a chore.  This is only during the learning phase which may last anywhere from one  cycle to three. In order for the cup to be leak free it has to fully open within the vagina. The main issue is that with the first couple of times you use it, it probably won’t completely open. You will go about your lovely day only to discover a leak. Wear panty liners your first few times until you become comfortable with inserting it.

It really is leak-free. We see the pads and tampon commercials where the products claim to have “leak-free protection”. Well, yeah…that’s a lie. But the Diva Cup is truly leak free. It creates a  gentle suction and catches all of your flow into the cup. Finally, I can sleep in peace and not in that fetal position in fear of walking up in a sea of…yeah you get the idea.

Diva Cup done changed the sleeping while on your period game

Diva Cup done changed the sleeping while on your period game. I more of a freefaller now.

Once you get the Diva Cup you’ll never go back. It seriously makes dealing with my menstruation easier. As I was packing my bags for vacation. I was struggling to fit all of my shoes and clothes in to the bag. I knew Aunt Flo was due for a visit soon so I threw my Diva Cup into the bag. It took up four square inches of space. Before the Diva Cup I would be struggling to find space to fit all of my pads and tampons in my suitcase. Calculating the minimum I would need in order to maximize space for all the other items I would have to pack. It’s a hassle-free, eco-friendly way to deal with my period.

I would definitely recommend the Diva Cup to all of my friends. My only advice would be to get comfortable with your vagina and flow before you attempt to use this product. You may purchase it online or at your local Whole Foods Market. Save your money and stop stockpiling all of those pads and tampons, give the Diva Cup a try. Your vagina will thank you. Promise.

7 thoughts on “The Diva Cup Review and What They Won’t Tell You

  1. The Diva Cup is horrible (at least in my opinion)! It’s way to big. It hurts to put it in/take it out. You can feel it inside you because it’s so big making it super uncomfortable to wear. I’ve tried everything to fix the problem and have looked up how to properly insert it. I’ve had to Diva Cup for over a year and have tried using it during every menstrual cycle in hopes that it would get better but it just doesn’t.

  2. There are many, many different menstrual cups out there. Don’t give up because the diva cup didn’t work for you. Do some research, there are charts and stuff that give you dimentions, hardness etc. There are a lot of cups smaller than the diva cup.

  3. Hi! I do not own a Diva Cup, but I do own a MeLuna. When I did my research, I found that they were cheaper (at least where I live), and they come in so many softness levels, sizes, and styles, that I chose to buy my first two menstrual cups there. I have only been using it for one period since, and it does take some practice getting it to open right, but I am so happy I have them now. They even have a test to help you find the right size and softness! I have a medium classic and a small mini classic. Try it out if you have trouble with the other brands!

Share your thoughts

